Howell County Collector Dennis Von Allmen announced last week the annual tax collection season is set to begin as the county is mailing out nearly 39,000 tax bills this week.  Von Allmen said for the tax year of 2020, the collector’s office is charged with the responsibility to collect 21.6 million dollars for the various political subdivisions in Howell county. He added, the majority (17.2 million dollars) will be distributed to the 10 local school districts serving the county. 
The Howell County Collector said most levies set by the taxing entities remained the same or with minor changes this year. However, Von Allmen noted, his office will not be collecting revenue for the South Howell County Ambulance District this year.  The South Howell County Ambulance District eliminated their tax levy this year due to a ½ cent sales tax that was passed by voters in April 2019 to fund te district
Several methods of payment are available to taxpayers: 
-Taxpayers may pay in person at the Collector’s Office located in the Howell County Office Building, downtown West plains.
-Due to COVID-19 concerns, taxpayers are reminded that alternative means are available in paying their taxes, which include: by mail, online, telephone or drop box located outside of the front door of the Howell County Office Building.  A credit or debit card is necessary for online and telephone transactions.  For online payments, taxpayers should go to and follow the prompts.  For telephone payments, taxpayers should follow the instructions on their tax statement. 
-Also, taxpayers will again be able to pay their taxes at the US Bank located in Willow Springs or the Liberty Branch Bank located in Mountain View (through December 31st).
Von Allmen added: “for taxpayers to avoid late fees (penalties), payment of current year taxes must be made or postmarked no later than December 31st.
Persons with questions about their tax statement may call (417) 256-4001 or come by the Howell County Collector’s Office located in the Howell County Office Building in downtown West Plains.  Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Howell County News

110 W. Main St.,
Willow Springs, MO 65793

Comment Here